What I’ve Been Up to and My First Craft Show!

Hi Everyone!

Its been a while since I posted. I just wanted to check in. My classes ended ( on a high note) and I’ve decided to put off taking more classes until the fall to get caught up on life.

I’ve been doing ALOT more crocheting lately than jewelry making. A friend of my mother asked if she could make her granddaughter’s prom dress and of course my mother happily obliged.

The young lady was going to be wearing a strapless gown so my mother asked if I could crochet her a shawl. I had been browsing through Pinterest around the time she asked me and saw some shawls that I was thinking about making.  My mom chose this shawl, Graceful Shell Shawl. It was the first shawl I had made and if I were to make it again I would keep in mind the notes of other Ravelry members such as starting with a Foundation Single Crochet instead of a chain to make the edge more flexible. I also continued the pattern two more times and went up another hook size to increase the drape. I’m waiting for pictures but I have some pictures on my Ravelry which aren’t the best since I took them really quick when I got home from work. One of the pictures you see the salad I’m about to eat LOL

In addition to the shawl and other little designing attempts I’m getting ready for my first craft show,Christmas in July Craft Show MD Promotions Team Event! I’m excited and nervous and I’m doing a TON of research and making like crazy.

Once I’m all done with this craft show I’ll post the pattern for the wristlets I’ve been crocheting. In the meantime these are the ones I’ve finished crocheting and one I’m still working on.

20140619-113322-41602597.jpg 20140619-113320-41600178.jpg  20140619-113320-41600964.jpg20140619-113321-41601762.jpg

I love the stitch and how it can totally change the look of the bag by just swapping the colors. I learned the stitch from Allison’s Dream A Little Bigger post here.

I taught myself how to crochet so I mainly use the most basics of stitches so its great to learn something new. These purses work up in no time; less than a day. I’m plan on making i-cord wrist straps and attaching before I add the lining and closure. Some will have button closures, some magnetic, and some zippered. I’ll post more pictures after I have assembled them. 🙂

If you live in the area, I would love to see you at the Craft Show 🙂 It would be great to meet you in person. I will also be sure to post about my experience at the craft show and pictures 🙂

Ok I have to get back to working on my wares.

See ya

~Jasmine

 

 

Leave a Reply

